add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

OS instalation accidental free copy of 8.1...

johnsrudtf
  • 57 months ago

I ordered a pc from Cyberpower pc (didn't have the time to build one) and just unboxed it and plugged it in. Now I did not order an OS because as a student I can get windows 10 for free through dreamspark. When I turned it on it had windows 8.1 installed however... So I set it up just to see what was going on. So now I have a product key for Windows 10, and windows 8.1 on the computer. What is the easiest and best method of getting windows 10 on this pc? I have a USB iso that I can use, but I just need to know what to do... when I restarted the computer with the USB plugged in it came up with the windows installation page and when I put in the product key it said it wasn't recognized. So I think that was the installation page for 8.1. As I see it I have two options, upgrade via the windows upgrade app, or wipe my drive and start from scratch? Advice please!!!

Comments

• 57 months ago
  • 1 point

Aarg!! I extracted the file great. Then I deleted the old iso from my USB by formatting it... now when I plug in the USB with the new iso it says that it's missing the driver. So I think I accidentally deleted the driver off the USB when I deleted the old iso. Fun times. I'm going to go find the driver online

• 57 months ago
  • 1 point

I finally got the OS running, but now I can't connect to the internet... I'm plugged in with an ethernet cable and it says that it doesn't have a driver for the network adapter. How do I get that?

• 57 months ago
  • 1 point