add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Do It All PC (Gaming, CAD, Web Browsing)

Andy87
  • 56 months ago

Hello everyone, I am brand new here and am looking to build my first computer. I'd like to start by saying that I am a complete newb to computer building. I am a design engineer and would like to build a computer capable of running AutoCAD and Solidworks as well as play games on high settings.

I already have a keyboard, mouse and monitors. I will be running a triple monitor 1080p setup so I need a GPU that will push the three monitors at 1080p on high settings. I'd like the GPU to have 3 display ports as I don't want to mess around with adapters (not sure if that is really a big deal or not). The games that I play are typically FPS and Iracing.

As for the CAD side of this I would only be using one monitor and I would have email and web browser opened on the other monitors. I won't be using large assemblies very often, file sizes are typically > 5mb. Can I buy a good gaming GPU and an entry level professional card and have them coexist within the system? Or will a gaming GPU be good enough for light to medium CAD use? What do you guys suggest?

I am a bang for the buck kind of guy, I don't need the best of the best. My max budget is $1,500, but would much prefer to have it closer to $1,000 if I can get a decent machine for that. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• 56 months ago
  • 1 point

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor $242.99 @ SuperBiiz