add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

$800 - $1000 Linux Gaming PC

mikejerome
  • 56 months ago

Hey Guys I'm a total noob and really don't know which parts to choose with so many options to choose from.

Budget: $800 but I could stretch to 1k

Use: Gaming and web development. I mainly want to play iRacing at high settings, but also would like to be able to play other games.

Peripherals: I need to be able to use a 3 monitor setup. I've used eyefinity in the past but I haven't tried it with linux yet so whatever would give me 3 monitors on linux. I'm pretty sure eyefinity will work on ubuntu. I don't need anything but the PC build I can get monitors later and I already have KB/Mouse/Wheel. I also do not need a hard drive. I would like to game in 1080p I don't need 4k. I don't need wireless. Bluetooth would be nice so I can use a gamepad.

Notes: I like the intel i5 processor and am familiar with eyefinity. I don't care too much about the case. I'm not really into overclocking, it scares me a bit because I have burned up a gpu before but that was quite a few years ago. I would like at least 4 preferably more USB3 ports. If you need more info let me know like I said I'm a noob.

Comments

• 56 months ago
  • 2 points

I've been using nothing but linux for about 5 years now and do some casual gaming on it. The only time I touch windows is when fixing other peoples computers. Most of the time, their computers are broken because windows is always 1 click away from being hijacked.