add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Fan Orientation for best airflow - new to building

MACKA0ili

76 months ago

Hi everyone,

I have just finished my first build and everything is up and running but I am a bit concerned about airflow. I have some basic knowledge of the subject but I have yet to try anything other than the out of box oritenation (intake from the front, exhaust from the back).

I am using a CM Storm Enforcer case that comes with a 200mm front intake fan and a 120mm exhaust. However I also purchased an H55 Corsair water cooler and I replaced the rear fan with the radiator/fan unit. I have the radiator fan running as exhaust but corsair recommends it as an intake and since I now have an extra fan lying around I want to try to have the best airflow possible with the recommended settings.

I was thinking of putting the 120mm fan as the front intake and placing the 200mm fan on the top grill as an exhaust, but I am a complete novice when it comes to pc builds so any suggestions of where I should place the fans would be much appreciated.

Comments

• 76 months ago
  • 2 points

Hi most people suggest that you have positive pressure as in more fans intaking than exhausting, for now if your not going to buy anymore fans then fit the 120mm to the top of the case (if it fits obviously)because as we all know hot air rises.

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point