add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
micahross
  • 55 months ago

My wife is a huge fan of the Model M keyboard. They're huge: 2.63 x 19.25 x 8.25 in. For some odd reason, I'm studying for the CompTIA A+ certs, and I noticed that the mini-ITX motherboards are tiny: 6.7 × 6.7 in. I wondered if I could make a little project of building a PC inside a Model M -- essentially what Commodore 64 used to do back in the day. I kept thinking that heat would be a problem. Just like it was for the Commodore 64 back in the day. As I'm trying to put this together, I keep running into incompatibilities. Right now, I'm having problems getting ANY cooling unit to pair up.

I'm well aware that I'm going to have to make a modification to the Model M case. I'm thinking a riser to separate the halves. It will be annoyingly thick -- just like the Commodore 64 was back in the day, but this is more of a fun, novelty build than anything else.

Budget: I'm trying to run cheap, but... in some ways, I don't really care. I wouldn't balk at an extra $100 to finish the project, but I don't really need anything special. See "Use".

Use (Gaming, Rendering, etc): Yeah, this is an old lady's computer. She doesn't/can't do much more than MS-Word (ugh) and Firefox. I'm really more concerned about heat than cost or specs.

Peripherals required (monitor, keyboard/mouse, etc): Ideally, this would have a mouse. You know about the keyboard already. Monitor? Not picky. Just something she can keep near her chair.