add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
BuchFlake
  • 55 months ago

Hello everybody! I would like help building my very own server, I have heard various opinions and would like to post here so I can make my final decision with all of your help. I know I need a purpose for my server but I am not sure what that is yet. Do you guys have any opinions? I get Windows Home Server for "free" from my school(which is probably just added into my tuition). I am currently a networking student and I think building my own server would be a fun and educational thing to do so when I take more network/server admin classes I might be "ahead of the curve." Some things that I have read say that you basically need a server grade motherboard and some good hard drive space and everything else is up to you. I have seen some builds with a 90 dollar processor and some with a 300 dollar one. I have already built my own PC for about 1200 dollars and would like to stick to about half of that as my budget for my server. So this thing does not have to be some huge work horse because I am probably going to either use it as a cloud, VPN, or maybe have things like emails run threw it. If you could please put some parts list in the comments and give me some suggestions that would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks, Blake

Comments

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Xeon E3-1220 V3 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor $192.99 @ SuperBiiz
Motherboard Supermicro X10SLL-F Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard $159.99 @ SuperBiiz