add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

R5 Define to use H100i GTX or Hyper 212 EVO

Timplar

49 months ago

I've never built a pc before. I fell in love with the R5 Define when I saw it. I can't figure out whether or not I should water cool my cpu or not though. I'm going to be putting in a Gigabyte 980 ti in it and will probably get a second one in the future when it becomes necessary. My idea for using the H100i GTX was to stick it in the front as an intake to give the cpu the best possible cooling, then sticking the front fan that comes with the case on the bottom and getting a third case fan to stick in the slot on the side panel to make sure the GPUs don't get too hot from the exhaust coming from the radiator. I wasn't sure if it'd be worth it to do all that or to just have two front intake fans and use an air cooler for my CPU.

TL;DR will the exhaust from my CPU cooler blowing straight into my (eventually) two Gigabyte 980 ti's make things too hot for them or will it be fine?

Comments

• 49 months ago
  • 1 point

if I had to guess you're probably like 90% of people with an intel mainstream platform (Z97/Z170) right? the heat from any and all cpus that can fit those sockets will have little to no effect on gpu temps. the rad in front is good in the R5 so you don't have to remove the top covers. best thing would be an air cooler, but i can think of several coolers that are better suited than the two most popular coolers on earth you're deliberating between. :-)

• 49 months ago
  • 1 point