add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Desktop for Photoshop, $800 budget

CentershotRecurve
  • 55 months ago

Hello!

I have never built a computer before, and I'm nervous that it's going turn out as some Frankenstein-monster... except not work.

I am basically asking: "build it or buy it?"

I'm not computer savvy, so I will NOT be putting this together myself, I will be calling the family-owned computer shops around here and asking what they charge to assemble. (People do that, right?) :)

This is for a computer only - I do not have any peripherals, but they are not included in this budget. (Any advice on peripherals is always appreciated)

Details -Budget: $800 (or less - I'm saving up for a monitor tablet as well!) -Use: Photoshop CC/internet surfing -No size/brand/style preference -Windows OS included in budget

Here's the System Requirements from Adobe: -Intel® Core 2 or AMD Athlon® 64 processor; 2 GHz or faster processor -Microsoft Windows 7 with Service Pack 1, Windows 8.1, or Windows 10 -2 GB of RAM (8 GB recommended) -2 GB of available hard-disk space for 32-bit installation; 2.1 GB of available hard-disk space for 64-bit installation -1024 x 768 display (1280x800 recommended) with 16-bit color and 512 MB of VRAM (1 GB recommended)* -OpenGL 2.0–capable system

I am concerned that a build will require frequent at-home tune-ups and tinkering beyond my abilities... how high-maintenance are custom builds once they're up and running?

Thank you!

EDIT: Sorry everything's all jumbled together! It squished together after I published it.

Comments

• 55 months ago
  • 1 point