add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Help me build a moderate gaming pc! Steam Games, ultra settings older MMORPGs ($400-600)

GarlicButter
  • 54 months ago

I guess I am a total newbie at this but here goes: of the games i want to play I read that thhe GeForce GTX960 will play them all on the settings i want, but is the 960 the best and cheapest at that point? I want to build a system that does not bottleneck itself and that will hold up for 5-12 years without much replacement parts/burn out, energy effeciency is fairly important as the inside of my house runs 80 degreees or more on average so overheating and wattage are always an issue.

Budget - looking for around 400-450 but I can go up to $600 after shipping, taxes, etc. Location - by the beaches of florida (humid, hot, salty air constantly breezing throughh home) Use - Gaming (and some game designing programs) Perphrials required - None Operating System - None required i have unix/linux OSs and Windows 7.1 and 10. Plan on running windows or a windows emulator for some games of course.

I probably need some way to access internet on this rig via wifi or plug in (usb) I do not need more than 250gigs of space (i strugle to use 90 gigs currently of my 180 gig drive) so an SSD might be ideal.