add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

New Build. First timer.

andymar07
  • 54 months ago

I want a quiet and compact build. I'm open to it not using the conventional "tower" case. Not flashy.

I was going to buy used on CL, but there were some inconsistencies with what the guys receipt he emailed me said and what newegg said when I called. In particular, there were different dates on the receipts I was given vs what their records show. Regardless, I'm building this and I'm a newbie.

Options for variation:

Microcenter CPU / Motherboard Combo

http://www.microcenter.com/site/brands/intel-processor-bundles.aspx

one other option: i7-6700k & ROG Z170 Express Maximus VIII Hero LGA 1151 ATX @ $568.98 (+~$100)

Is it worth getting a mobo that can support 64gb ram / DDR4 for future upgrades? I want to make sure the mobo is SLI capable too (x2).

Memory?

How important is Hz? I'd like to eventually upgrade to 32gb if it proves making video editing easier. I have no clue on quality / price / deals for this. Help would be appreciated.

Importance of a good PSU?

Versus this for instance.. https://pcpartpicker.com/part/corsair-power-supply-cx750m

What am I looking or in a cooler? Something that is quiet is preferable, but I dont want to spend a fortune.

Open to downgrading GPU if I can get a smaller one at a better price

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i7-5820K 3.3GHz 6-Core Processor $299.99
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4 ATX LGA2011-3 Motherboard $164.99
Storage Samsung 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $147.88 @ OutletPC