add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Solid future proof gaming-PC for first time builder

DKnowze
  • 53 months ago

Hi guys,

I am a first time pc builder from germany, in my early 20s and studying at the moment. I thought about building a pc for quite a while now, as I am kinda disappointed by the development of console gaming and the pc market seems more and more intriguing to me. I have a couple of ideas already, but I definitely need help with some of the parts.

So, first of all I want this pc to be (at least moderately) future proof. What I mean by this is that I am totally ok with upgrading it in the next years (actually I am planning on it) but I want the core of this Pc to be still useable in ~5 years. By core I mostly mean the motherboard, the cpu and the case. The games I want to play with it are mostly not that hardware intensive, I mostly like to play indie games, strategy games like Starcraft II, Civ V or Aoe2 HD and some sports and racing games. The one thing I'm still not sure of and that keeps interfering with my plans is the potential of VR gaming. I don't really want to build the Pc around it, but I want the "core" to potentially be able to do VR. My budget is around 1000€, but that involves a budget 1080p monitor and Windows. I don't care about the look or the size of the build. I am a complete noob to overclocking, so if that's a thing you guys would recommend, it had to be "easy" to do. (Or I need a guide ;) )

Now to get it in line with the template from the stickied post:

-Budget: ~1k€, including a monitor and windows