add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Negative airflow advice

OmniPeuchent

47 months ago

http://m.canadacomputers.com/mobile/itemid/074160

Hi all! This is my case. I have a hefty graphics card in my case as well.

I was wondering how I could make this case have the healthiest negative airflow possible. There's a huge fan in the front, a smaller onein the back, and I'm new to pc building and such and many forums online are ambiguous as to which is really stronger between one big fan and two smaller fans. So for the dude who knows his air flow, how many case fans should I buy, where should I place them, and what should their orientation be in order to have a negative airflow?

Thanks!

Comments

• 47 months ago
  • 2 points

Negative case pressure will draw dust in through all the tiny (usually unfiltered) gaps & openings, why would you want that?

Depending on the other components in your build I would say the case is fine in its stock configuration, 200mm in & 1200mm out will give you a little positive case pressure which, personally, is what I favour as it helps keeps the dust out.

• 47 months ago
  • 1 point

Depends on the CFM. size helps reduce sound if it is the same cfm but bigger, it wouldnt have to spin as fast

• 47 months ago
  • 1 point

I think you mean negative pressure. If you want as much negative pressure as possible simply have all the fans blowing air out the case. However that is not your best bet for cooling. A more balanced approach is better.

• 47 months ago
  • 1 point