add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Want to build a PC, but I don't how to start! HELP PLEASE

ovojorge
  • 52 months ago

Hey everyone, I am completely new to this building a PC thing. I was looking for a laptop powerful enough to handle some 3D Modeling programs because I am an engineering student working with programs like SolidWorks, PTC Creo, AutoCAD, etc.. My friend recommended building a PC because it is cheaper, can always upgrade, and the best reason, it is WAY more powerful than any laptop.

Let me get to the point, I have no idea about parts, what is compatible with what or anything at all. I have 2 friends who are willing to help me build a PC, but I would also want some recommendations and opinions from everyone here.

My budget around $1,700. Want it to be powerful enough for 3D Modeling, but since I am building a PC, why not for gaming as well? I would love to get into that as well. I need help starting from a processor, motherboard all the way down the list up to a monitor etc. Luckily I get Windows 10 from my university for free, so I do not have to worry about that. I am located in the United States.

I am a noob, also, if you guys can recommend any websites or books to look at in order to become more familiar with PC building, that would be great.

NOTE: With the price, also need monitor, keyboard, mouse included. Thank you to everyone

Comments

• 52 months ago
  • 2 points

This looks so sick! I shall show my friends, do some research myself, thank you for your time!

• 52 months ago
  • 1 point