add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

A case to cool them all!

oo0filthy0oo

46 months ago

Hi everyone, I have a parts list that I am 60% through purchasing. It is now time to make the final decision on the case and cooling design. I am a complete amateur at this so any advice would be helpful. A bit of background, where i live is often over 30C, i do not have carpets but do have a dog. The tower will be off the ground not covered by a desk. In the future i plan to dual SLI the graphics cards. Either 980's or 980TI's. I will be AIO the CPU.

Any advice on push pull, negative, positive air flow, number of fans will be greatly appreciated.

The cases i can purchase where i live and rough price are:

NZXT S340 = 75 GBP NZXT H2 = 75 GBP NZXT H440 = 100 GBP NZXT Source 530 = 95 GBP NZXT Phantom 410 = 90 GBP NZXT Phantom 530 = 110 GBP NZXT H630 = 90 GBP Corsair Air 540 = 95 GBP Corsair 550D Obsidian = 95 GBP Corsair 500R Carbide = 110 GBP Thermaltake Versa H34 = 75 GBP Thermaltake Commander G41 = 75 GBP

Fans will be brought in UK

I am also looking for easy install and cleaning. I rejected the Silverstone R5 because the install looked too hard. Oww and please don't mention Phanteks.... i cannot get them here :(

Here is my part list.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor £296.99 @ Ebuyer
CPU Cooler Corsair H100i v2 70.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler £94.99 @ Amazon UK
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 ATX LGA1151 Motherboard £164.99 @ Ebuyer