add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
Bbake516
  • 52 months ago

I have never built a PC before so I am new to this and have some general questions. I am on a budget of around $750 (price is inclusive with a monitor). My initial thought is that the most important things I want to spend money on are a good processor and good motherboard. I am looking at the i5-6500 skylake processor and the Asus Sabertooth Z170 S mobo. I just want something that I can always add on to later if needed. I will initially be using the onboard graphics with the intent of upgrading to a video card later down the road. Is this thinking correct or should I go for a cheaper mobo around $100 and get the graphics card now? I am mainly going to be using the computer to learn programming on and to do general tasks (web, spreadsheets, e-mail etc). Which is why I am looking at the skylake being that it supports DDR4. I am also toying with the idea of getting a "better" case. Was looking at the NZXT Phantom 240 but was thinking maybe the NZXT 530 might be better although much more costly (almost double the price). But I am wondering if the 530 is really that much better than the 240 to justify the cost.

Thoughts?

Comments

• 52 months ago
  • 1 point

This topic has been moved from "General > General Discussion" to "Systems > Create A Part List For Me".

• 52 months ago
  • 1 point

You don't need a Z-series Motherboard with a non-K CPU. Intel is blocking BCLK over-clocking and no-one really knows if that is permanent or not. The Sabretooth isn't justified for the build budget IMHO.