add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Fractal R5 Window lights

sebmaynard

42 months ago

Hi!

I'm completely new to this whole "let's make your PC look pretty" thing. The last PC I built was beige.

Anyway, I'm buying an R5 Window to house my new build, and wondering what the options arefor kitting it with some lights? I'm not particularly interested in something OTT like the HUE+ (unless of course, that's the best solution) - for now, probably single colour lights to make the window sparkle... and highlight the GTX 1070!

Any thoughts welcome!

Thanks

Comments

• 42 months ago
  • 3 points

On the topic of case lighting, there are quite a few options for you to choose from:

1. Some higher-end motherboards have dedicated LED headers that allow you to connect case lighting directly to the motherboard.

2. NZXT has an absolutely OTT Hue+ kit that allows you to turn your PC into an impromptu disco light for surprise dance parties. There's also a lot of other lighting options aside from spectrum cycles. The kit comes with 4 light strips as stock, so there should be enough for your use case.

3. You can buy external RGB controllers that come with their own LED strips for a low price. I've seen Deepcool-branded controllers in Golden Arcade (Hong Kong) that sell for $129 HKD...or around $17. These controllers can also serve as accent lighting for your desk, storage shelves, bedroom, or anyplace that has a mains socket nearby.