add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is This The Right PSU?

mgillett
  • 43 months ago

This is my first PC build and I don't want to cheap out on my power supply, but I also don't want to spend any unnecessary cash on the PSU if I could allocate that elsewhere in my build. I am relatively new to PC building so my question is this - Is this the right PSU for my build, or is there a better option for me? Any suggestions/help with this question or my build in general would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i5-6600 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor $285.75 @ shopRBC
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4S ATX LGA1151 Motherboard $110.00 @ Vuugo
Memory G.Skill NT Series 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory $44.99 @ Newegg Canada
Storage A-Data Premier SP550 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive $74.99 @ Newegg Canada
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive $84.99 @ Newegg Canada
Video Card PNY GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Video Card $329.99 @ PC Canada
Case NZXT S340 - Designed by Razer ATX Mid Tower Case $114.99 @ Newegg Canada
Power Supply SeaSonic 520W 80+ Bronze Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply $89.99 @ Newegg Canada
Case Fan Cougar Dual-X 73.2 CFM 140mm Fan $4.99 @ Memory Express
Case Fan Cougar Dual-X 73.2 CFM 140mm Fan $4.99 @ Memory Express
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total (before mail-in rebates) $1175.67
Mail-in rebates -$30.00
Total $1145.67
Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-09-10 05:17 EDT-0400

Comments

• 43 months ago
  • 1 point