add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Replacing a ReadyNAS Pro w/ DIY NAS for Plex, Kobi, and storing lots of pdf's

Monkey_Demon

39 months ago

The latest version of Plex no longer runs on my ReadyNAS Pro, so I'm planning to upgrade. After looking at what's available in the enclosure market, I've decided I can get more bang for the buck with a DIY. I've worked inside computers for decades, installing RAM, cards, and hard drives, but I've never built a computer from scratch before. So I'd like your expert opinion on the parts list below.

The main considerations are (1) my current needs, which include Plex & Kobi support, as well as WebDAV support for access to my large library of pdf's; (2) future-proofing, with room to grow by adding more storage; (3) this will wind up in the media center off my living room, so silence is golden, as is modest size. Currently the ReadyNAS Pro uses 2x3TB WD Red drives mirrored with RAID. My initial intent is to replicate this arrangement, only using 2x4TB WD Red drives.

Here's the parts list

• CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1225 V5 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor $216.95 (chosen because it's Skylake & uses less power, and because it has built-in graphics, which I'll need for maintenance with the MB I'm using)

• CPU Cooler: Prolimatech PRO-SAM 17 Fanless CPU Cooler $44.99 (fanless to keep it quiet, and it's a relatively flat design; but I can add a fan if it runs hot)

• Motherboard: ASRock C236 WSI Mini ITX LGA1151 Motherboard $197.99 (mainly because it supports 8 SATA3 6GB/s; no on-board graphics though, hence the choice of a CPU with graphics support)