add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First Attempt at a VFX Build (Complete Beginner)

ninetynineflake

39 months ago

Hi guys,

I'm starting my last year of a VFX and Animation University Course and have decided I want to build my own computer and with the guidance of a couple of people on my course, these are the components that I have settled on.

My parts list http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/sz6PJV

I would like my computer to be able to handle rendering animations with Maya, rendering video and audio with premiere pro, and doing complex simulations as well, (pretty much any vfx or animation I were to throw at it).

I am a complete beginner to building computers, which is also why I'm asking the community if there are better parts that I should invest in or parts that are slightly cheaper? I managed to save up enough money to have a budget of £1000 and wanted to get the best specification that I could with the money, but as you can see, I am slightly above that, so any additional advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks everyone for reading, and I look forward to your responses and critique.

Dan

Comments

• 39 months ago
  • 1 point
  1. Better performing RAM: higher clock speed, quad channel memory mode supported. Also, £10.57 cheaper.
  2. Double capacity SSD with about the same performance, only for £5.32 extra.
  3. A larger HDD could be useful too if you'll have a large amount of data.
  4. Will you need an OS?
  5. Will you overclock?

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price
CPU Intel Core i7-5820K 3.3GHz 6-Core Processor £353.99 @ Ebuyer