add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

A novice who need some honest advice!!

jamesalexparry

38 months ago

Hello all, just so you can understand my background with computers, i'm the guy who picks up a 'good deal' laptop at currys...

i'm now looking to buy a custom pc and have been emailing companies in my local area.

i have recieved a promising email back from one such company and it seems maybe too good to be true??? bear in mind i'm no expert, these are the specs.

2 x quad core xeon proccessors (8 cores) 96GB RAM (yes 96) DDDR3 a GTX 980 gfx card hp workstation 1.5TB HHD windows 10 installed

i asked for a workstation that was capable of playing games also... ive done some research on the parts that i can, (im not sure which XEON model they are....

they tell me the GFX card processors and RAM are all brand new.....

this all for £795 which with the current exchange rate is around £1000

is this a good build?

thank you!!! James

Comments

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

James, looks a bit fishy (the technical term for that amount of RAM is a sh1t-t0n), the good folk of PCPP can do better than this I'm sure ;)

A couple of key questions would be:

• what kind of workstation uses did you have in mind; video editing, CAD/3D, 2D gfx for instance? Or do you just mean Office etc?

• what kind of games do you play / want to play?

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

I use solidworks, photoshop, 3Ds max and keyshot for rendering. games wise... battlefield 4 and 1 when its released...

I'm a student and primarily its for work, however i do like to play games when i have a bit of free time.