add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Creating a build with easy 4k compadibility

carrotstherabbi

38 months ago

Starting off, I'm quite new to the game. I just recently started researching computer parts and am still unsure on a number of things. The primary function of this computer would be for audio recording, but able to handle 4k 60fps gaming. I'm hoping to keep the cost just under $1,500, if that would be possible. If not I would not mind 1980x1080. Any comments on what should/shouldn't be in this build would be greatly appreciated. Thanks http://pcpartpicker.com/list/qQGW9W

Comments

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Zero reason to go AMD currently. All of the FX series are out done by the i5 6400. PSU is meh and is overpriced. You don't need 16GB of RAM. That HDD is insanely overpriced. Are you using mail in rebates?

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Definitely wont be able to handle games more intensive than Rocket League at 4k. Better off aiming for 1080p. Much better to go intel as well.

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Not much on rebates about $35 all together, any suggestions for power supply and hdd?

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Also you need to reply to people if you want them to get a notification of your response otherwise they won't know you commented unless they come back.

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

I will remember this, thank you

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

And would I have to switch motherboards if I was to use the i5 6400?

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Here is a much better option.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price