add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First PC Build: KT Pretty Flower (Tentative)

Ktmvp

38 months ago

Edit: link to my parts list-http://pcpartpicker.com/list/4MfnGf Please feel free to give suggestions/critiques Hey guys, I'm new to the PC building process, and this rig is what I'm looking to produce. I was wondering if the composition would be overkill for my everyday pc activities such as playing league of legends and school related work. I am transferring from my mac to pursue a better and smoother gaming experience, as well as acquiring the ability to open more than 2 apps at one time.

Budget: $1.4k My tentative parts list: The MSI Z170A SLI seems like a great mamaboard for its relative cheapness, and compatibility with my build.

I found the intel core-i5 6500 was a well rounded and well priced cpu, and I believe it is sufficient for my simple needs.

I tentatively plan to purchase the MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GPU mainly because of the decent $220 price. The 1060 seems like a solid performer, and it's made by MSI to credit it further. Looking at performance records the 1060 only performs a little better than the 980, which makes me think I'm not getting the bang for the buck I'm looking for. My alternative is to get the more expensive 1070, which I believe can handle more contemporary high end games, and future games to come.

I went with 1TB HDD and 250GB SSD because that combination would facilitate the game I play now, and potentially higher-end games in the future. I chose the Caviar blue and Samsung EVO-series based off of popularity and reviews.