add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

I'm ready to pull the trigger

zsukhun

38 months ago

Hi guys.

I'm hoping you guys can help me with this parts list. It's all for gaming and it's my first build ever, so I'm nervous.

Biggest concern is the CPU cooler being good enough for this beast i7 and the i7 itself (not sure if the skylake issue is still a thing). My other option for the cooler is the Scythe Cooling Motherboard SCKTT-1000. It's quieter, but not sure it can handle the i7.

Your thoughts are so welcome and highly appreciated.

Thank you

Ps. It's not showing the video card price, but it's $390.

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/zsukhun/saved/hQ8YJx

Comments

• 38 months ago
  • 2 points

A Corsair CXM would be cheaper and better. You don't need to buy more thermal paste and AS5 isn't good. You have a unlocked CPU with a motherboard that doesn't support overclocking. Too much for that case. The Evo 212 isn't of good value anymore. That cooler is very likely better than the Evo 212 not that I would recommend it though since the Sytche Fuma is only about $10 more and is THE best HSF you can buy currently. What is your max budget.

not sure if the skylake issue is still a thing

Not a issue anymore. It was a issue but it was mainly a issue since jackasses decided it was a great idea to use a drill/eletric screwdriver for cooler installation.

• 38 months ago
  • 1 point

Wow! Good info to start exploring! Budget is 1300 tops. Currently at about 1200, which is where I want to be.

• 38 months ago
  • 2 points

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type Item Price