add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

i5 6500 + gtx 1070 OR i5 6600k + 1060

TheKnightsofRen

37 months ago

Hey guys ok this is my final opinions/decision making until i finally buy the parts. As the title suggests im looking for opinions and possibly a reason behind your choice whether i should get:

• i5 6500 w/ gtx 1070 (option 1) OR
  • i5 6600k w/ 1060(option 2)

I am looking to build this pc ideally before christmas. I should mention im relatively new to this whole pc gaming/build so apologies in advance for my lack of knowledge and questions. Also im open to getting an intel xeon v3 family as it was also recommended but i am a bit sceptical.

Comments

• 37 months ago
  • 2 points

It depends on your monitor. If you have a 1440p monitor, then go with option 1 and if you have a 1080p monitor then go with option 2.

• 37 months ago
  • 1 point

Got a AOC 23' IPS monitor looks like option 2, though I will be looking to upgrade it in the near future . I was told at 1440 the 1060 can get OK fps (45-60), shouldve mentioned earlier i was hoping to get the ROG strix gtx 1060 for £310 seems good on current games and hopefully will prove ok in the future.

• 37 months ago
  • 1 point

Would do option 1 for Gaming especially if 1440p is in your future.

Most games are more GPU dependant and the few that do call on the CPU will still do just fine on the i5 6500..

• 37 months ago
  • 1 point