add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Xeon vs i5

Benzima
  • 76 months ago

Hey guys, I'm new to this so.... I was wondering what would be best for gaming, multitasking and some video editing: Xeon 1230 v3 or the i5 4670k? Check out my idea: http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/user/Benzima/saved/37Uo Cheers, Ben

Comments

• 76 months ago
  • 3 points

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Xeon-E3-1230-v3-vs-Intel-Core-i5-4670K

The Xeon is a great CPU but you can't overclock it you can only turbo boost and it doesn't come with integrated graphics but seeing as you're going to have a dedicated GPU that won't be an issue.

I personally would get the Xeon over the i5

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

Cheers :)

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

Do not use CPU Boss for anything. Ever. Unless you are looking up specifications. The only numbers that ever matter are benchmarks.

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

So then which do you recommend out of the two? And what benchmarks do I reference?

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

Nuh bruh, of all those chips you want this one:

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/part/intel-cpu-bx80637e31230v2

Hyperthreading and a larger L3 cache for a 100Mhz drop in clock speed? Hells yeah.

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

Wouldn't the v3 one be better as its newer?

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

newer isnt always better

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

Probably, but apparently not on paper? I can't find specs to differentiate them. Probably has to do with instruction set and/or architecture size.

I'd choose this one for the money.

[comment deleted]
  • 76 months ago
  • 1 point