add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube
Hunter844
  • 39 months ago

Decided to put Bodhi on my Toshiba A355 laptop and so far I like it over Ubuntu Gnome3. I'm still learning about it so can't really review in specifics other than I like the DE and it seems pretty easy to tweak the layout however you want it. It comes with the Midori browser that looks promising but so far I haven't been able to get it to run basic videos so there is some issues with that. I ended up getting Chromium and everything runs fine so far that I've tried. I think it runs smoother than the Gnome3 version I had on it. The themes are very nice looking that come with it but I ended up downloading another theme called Forum that I liked the best.

The things I'm not sure about are reducing the brightness on the display...it's set to burn my eyeballs now but it's even better graphics than the prior Os I had on here so I'm guessing this intel hardware must like Bodhi better. I actually think it looks better than it ever did running Windows versions. My battery life isn't good but it wasn't good on windows or Gnome3 either...I think that's just this power hungry laptop.

I haven't played with it but it's got a setting that you can build an ISO with all your preferences and apparently packages that you want so that you can put it on other computers. I'm mainly playing around on this laptop looking for a version that I can get happy with for my desktop that currently has Windows 7 on it.

Comments

• 39 months ago
  • 1 point