add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Best 1200w+ psu?

panthersoul
  • 32 months ago

Depending on how thread rippers biggest chip does. And Intel's. I9 7980x. Ill likely be moving to that chip. Even if i decided coffee lake would be a better investment. Id still need more power.

Atm i have a 850w gold evga psu. 6700k and 1080ti. It'll be sli soon enough. And my one is doing 360ish watts alone. So I'll need a bigger one just to sli. I don't know anyone personally who will even buy hardware like mine. So i have no experience with the higher wattage psus. I'm assuming certifications still mean alot. But. I'd rather hear from people who use or had used.

Tldr; i need a high watt psu for more hardware. Want opinions on best.

Comments

• 32 months ago
  • 1 point

All very good psu's.

And the gold or platinum labels don't tell you anything about how good a psu is btw. They only tell you something about how effiecient a psu is not its quality. But the psu's above all had excellent reviews.

• 32 months ago
  • 1 point

These three offer the best performance: https://pcpartpicker.com/products/compare/8LMFf7,V6vRsY,h9p323/

There are a lot of other 1kw+ supplies, but it's important to look closely at the platform as well as the voltage regulation and ripple suppression. The three supplies that I suggested offer the best performance below $350. The next ones up are only minutely better so unless budget is absolutely no concern, those three will be more than good enough.