add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

ASUS Z87M Plus, H87M Pro, Gryphon Z87 (micro atx)?

Rgreen9200
  • 76 months ago

This is my first build and I am attempting an HTPC, that I can also use for our everyday computer. I would like to hook up our HDTV to it and an old monitor, so I can use one to watch tv and the other to get work done, if I don't like the show. I've got the case and am working on narrowing down the other parts, but wanted to get the motherboard before I pick the rest. I may get an internal Ceton Infinitv 4 or 6 tuner and someone recommended a graphics card (7770), but like I said I wanted the motherboard picked before I picked the graphics card. ASUS was recommended for the motherboard by computer guy in town, so I narrowed it down to these 3. I wasn't sure if someone had an opinion on one over the other or their experiences with these boards. If you do, please let me know what you think. Also, my husband was thinking about using Linux (I picked UBuntu), instead of Win 8. Any thoughts on compatibility with these motherboards would be great.

Here is a link to the rest of my proposed parts and a few I already purchased. http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Rgreen9200/saved/3Du0

Comments

• 76 months ago
  • 1 point

If you haven't bought the 7770 already, don't. MSI has a Mini ITX version of the GTX 760, which is a tad better than the r9 270x.