add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Need help finding Linux Flavor for Old PC

trend.y
  • 31 months ago

My sister owns a Emachines EL1333G-01W which is pretty old, so we tried installing Ubuntu Mate on it replacing Windows 7 (She wanted to use Linux) and then the next thing you know is that her computer starts randomly shutting off from time to time and insanely slow load times, and the graphics is so old that it can't even use a screen saver without glitching (Integrated Nvidia Graphics). So I think I need a new OS ASAP to replace Ubuntu Mate and fit the spec's of the computer. I am only a beginner.

Your help is appreciated as always.

Comments

• 31 months ago
  • 1 point

You can try lightweight linux distros. e.g. lubuntu LTS

• 31 months ago
  • 1 point

Lubuntu will most likely have the same trouble as Ubuntu MATE here, as it's built on the same base and utilizes the same drivers. And yes, I have tested Lubuntu on very old computers, and more often than not, it just doesn't quite hold up - though it used to be better about that. In general, my experience is that Ubuntu and its derivatives are not good for older systems - the base is too fat, and more optimized for newer hardware.