add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Upgrade... I made some bad decisions

Kendozin

22 months ago

I am self taught and I have built one computer so far, but didn't choose the best parts. My current components are an i7-6700k and an RX 470 with 16GB of DDR4-2133 Memory. I didn't choose the best motherboard and I am looking for a good microATX board for ~$150 that looks good and is only black/gray. I am also planning on getting a Corsair Air 240, and also a GTX 1070 ti FE. Also wondering about good 144Hz 1080p monitors around, if anyone has any suggestions about that. By the way, I am going with a blue/black theme with my build, if anyone is wondering.

Summary: Any good z170-z270 boards that look good without the red accents (around $150 please, maybe slightly more or slightly less)

Any good deals on higher frequency RAM (like 3000-3600MHz?)

Worth it for the 1070 ti for 50$ more?

Any good cheap 144Hz 1080p Monitors (I am looking to buy 2 of them because I like have 2 for multi-tasking, and I want both of the same refresh rate)

Good quality blue LED 120mm case fans that are cheap?

Current Parts list: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/gYQdKZ

The questions above are for if there are any better deals or problems I should know about with the parts in this list (I already have the keyboard and mouse, don't worry about those).