add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Memory OC on Asrock Motherboard issue

Sanity_Logic
  • 25 months ago

Hello everybody, I've had this Asrock x370 Fatal1ty K4 Gaming motherboard in my build for a number of months. Now I know how Ryzen REALLY loves faster memory, so I bought a 3000Mhz kit by Gskill, they are the Gskill RIPJAWS V 8GBx2 kit. Now, the problem is is that I cannot, for what ever the life of me, push the memory past 2800Mhz, even 2900Mhz is unstable, and after a long session of use the system crashes. I've even made sure my BIOS are on the latest. Now, I'm pretty new to memory overclocking, though I did try some methods that I've been told though non of them have worked with successful results. I've messed with the timings and the latency as well as the voltage, whilst still being conservative, because I don't want to over do it with the voltage. Any information and/or help would be much appreciated. If you need to know my system specs, here they are: R7 1700 @3.8Ghz Asrock x370 Fatal1ty K4 Gaming GSkill Ripjaws V 2x8GB @3000Mhz (Downclocked ot 2800Mhz) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 PSU and storage aren't really relevant, so I'm leaving them out for now.

Comments

• 25 months ago
  • 2 points

I thought I'd do just one update here to show what I have done. Okay, so I've tightened the timings and latency, and I saw a really nice performance bulster! 13-14-14-14 34 is what I have. I'm going to try some more when I can, it's just so exciting seeing this.

• 25 months ago
  • 1 point