add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Why wasn't my pc booting to bios when the GPU was in?

awaisR

24 months ago

When I connected the pc to the monitor with the gtx 1060 amp edition it wouldn't boot but when I remove the card it did?

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/CZbD4q

Edit card was brand new but i didn't use it and I kept it in its original case.

Comments

• 24 months ago
  • 1 point

GPU might be DOA, you might want to test it if possible

• 24 months ago
  • 1 point

Sorry, I'm a beginner can you tell me what DOA is? Also the fans of the gpu were working but there was no signal to monitor so I removed it and it booted. I haven't tried installing it since.

• 24 months ago
  • 1 point

DOA means dead on arrival.

Things I would check:

• make sure your HDMI/Display port/whatever cable is plugged into the GPU and not the motherboard.
  • make sure the gpu power cables are plugged in (some gpus don't need then, but I think the 1060 6gb does)
  • try putting it in a different PCIe slot
  • make sure the build works on the iGPU (remove the graphics card, and plug your display cable into the motherboard)

If it doesn't work, send it back. If it does work, great- problem solved. Good luck.

• 24 months ago
  • 1 point

Thank you for your response I'll see what the outcome is and tell you if you want.

• 24 months ago
  • 1 point