add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Google Chrome White Screen Total Freeze

SJSmart

23 months ago

I've been using Google Chrome for 6+ years now, and I have not had any significant problem with using it. However, beginning yesterday (March 25, 2018), Chrome wouldn't load and only give me a white screen. This caused my entire pc to just freeze, and any app I had open would not respond; even Task Manager froze. The only thing I could do was hard-reset my PC, but it didn't fix anything.

I uninstalled it and then reinstalled it and it seemed to work fine. I got everything synced up and all was good, that is until I had to restart my PC due to Windows refusing to release a flash drive. When I opened up Chrome, it did the same thing and caused me to have to completely hard restart. I've uninstalled it for a second time, and I'm not sure if I will install it again until I can know a way to fix this.

This is really bizarre, as I was using perfectly fine last week. The only thing that I've done differently was install AOC's Screen+ and Prime95. I ran a torture test on my PC that got 12 tests done in 15 minutes before I had to stop when I heard a grinding sound coming from my PC; it did not fail once, though. Ever since then, my CPU has been fluctuating from 800MHz to about 3900MHz, even if I select "Balanced" in the Power Options. I know this is getting more technical than just software, but I wanted to make sure I include everything that may have caused my software to start messing up, as this is the only thing differently I've done.