• Log In
  • Register

Is this a sort of scam?

Forum Search


  • Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed


RainOfPain125 11 months ago

Asfar as I know Samsung's 960 series is supposed to be their m.2 version of their 860 SSD's

Then I looked around and came across this - https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147675&ignorebbr=1&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC-_-pla-_-Solid+State+Disk-_-N82E16820147675&gclid=CjwKCAjwwuvWBRBZEiwALXqjw7Qtz5V3zMLEdMNFdMvL1USMbP85j1wdR3kMnx9gb3HPRwecs-UwtRoCY1MQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

An m.2 marked as an "860"

what.....? Can someone help me understand?

Comments Sorted by:

Enrico411 2 points 11 months ago

No its not a scam: https://www.samsung.com/us/computing/memory-storage/solid-state-drives/ssd-860-evo-m-2-sata-250gb-mz-n6e250bw/

M.2 is just the form factor like a 2.5" drive.

960 is an nvme based M.2.

The 860 evo is sata based and comes in 2.5" or M.2 drives.

RainOfPain125 submitter 1 point 11 months ago

Oh... So 960 would be the obvious choice for m.2 as it uses the nvme interface, right

tragiktimes101 1 Build 1 point 11 months ago

Only if you need NVMe speeds, which most people don't.

RainOfPain125 submitter 1 point 11 months ago

I'm running servers, with thousands of player folders, which in those folders have about 7 folders each with a ton of tiny files.

I am running a MySQL server that has a multitude of databases, each with tiny entries on each column and row

I think NVMe's interface would be a good bottle-neck reliever in my situation.