PCPartPicker

• Register

What do the different PC parts do in relation to World of Warcraft (BFA)

Forum Search

Guidelines

• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

Yalderas 7 months ago

I've posted a few threads asking for a good budget WoW - only - PC build, due to the fact I don't have enough money yet, I will continue trying to gather more information to get the best I can get and know what I'm getting.

My question is this; What do the different PC parts do exactly, I am new to this scene but very eager to learn. I want to know so I can build my own based on my own opinion of what part I can get a cheaper version of and what part I need a nice one of.

CPU Motherboard Memory Storage Video Card Case Power Supply Other?

More specifically, if you could expand on how important any of these parts are or are not for playing World of Warcraft. I've heard that WoW is something single threaded or its CPU heavy or something, I don't know much else.

My goal is to put together my own parts list of a PC that can run WoW very well (high-ish settings) in good FPS (50+) with spending as little as possible.

My uneducated assumptions are that maybe I can skimp on the memory/storage because I'll only care to have 1 game on my PC. ( and if i want more later I could upgrade memory at that time). I don't know the difference between memory and storage. Probably get a nicer CPU, and possibly skimp on the motherboard bc all it does is connect things right? lol, I appreciate any feedback here very much, thank you. Also feel free to recommend a build you think would fit this description of PC ( even though this isn't the thread for it). =D

Comments Sorted by:

Zeromus725 2 points 7 months ago

CPU