add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Which SSDs are compatible with my motherboard?

MoonfrostGEDG

16 months ago

Hi everyone, I'm looking to upgrade to an ssd for the first time, and I have a few questions regarding compatibility with my motherboard.

I have an Asrock b360m pro4 which has two m.2 slots, (or "ultra m.2 as asrock calls them), one full speed and another, slower one with wifi" key E" connection (I don't know what key E is) which I understand is ideal for internal wifi adapters.

I've been researching ssds on and off for the last 10 years almost, but only now that I might get one for sure I've been researching more, nontheless, I still don't know enough about it, and hear conflicting things about it.

What kind of m.2 ssds can I use? PCI and SATA interface? Both? Also, is NvMe interface a whole 'nother interface? Or is it the same as PCI? Even if they are sata do they still connect to the m.2 slot? Do any SSDs connect directly to a PCI slot? And lastly, can I boot the OS from an m.2 just like with common sata ssds? I' ve seen in some forums some people having trouble with that...

I' m not as much interested in the increased speed of m.2 ssds but mostly the tiny form factor without cables, but seeing how much cheaper they are now I was thinking I might aswell get m.2 for less clutter... What should I get?

TL, DR: Which m.2 ssds are compatible with my motherboard and can I boot from them?

Comments

• 16 months ago
  • 1 point

What kind of m.2 ssds can I use? PCI and SATA interface? Both?

Yes. Both can be used. Along with other devices that use the m.2 formfactor.