PCPartPicker

• Register

Can I put two Samsung - 970 Evo M.2-2280 Solid State Drives in my motherboard?

Forum Search

Guidelines

• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

Samplebot 8 days ago

I have a ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) motherboard. I currently have one 970 evo (1TB) and it works great. I wanted to add another one (a 2tb version) into the other m2 slot. Are there any problems with this? PC part picker says it should be fine but has this compatibility note on the bottom. "The motherboard M.2 slot #1 shares bandwidth with a SATA 6.0 Gb/s port. When the M.2 slot is populated, one SATA 6.0 Gb/s port is disabled." I am very new to pc building and have no idea if this would effect me. Any information on any potential problems with getting another 970 on my motherboard would be great. Thanks.

Comments Sorted by:

Jeff_M 1 Build 2 points 8 days ago

If all you're adding is that M.2 drive, you will not have any trouble. What that note means is that one of your regular SATA ports on the motherboard is disabled when the M.2 is populated, so if you tried to plug a SATA drive in to that port, it would not work. Refer to the motherboard spec sheet to find out which port would be disabled.

Samplebot submitter 1 point 8 days ago

Thank you Jeff for the reply. I appreciate it. I assume a SATA port is whats populated using a normal HDD? Or perhaps an SSD?

Jeff_M 1 Build 2 points 8 days ago

Yes, that is correct, any traditional HDD or SSD drive that would plug in to the SATA ports. Looks like the M.2 only disables 1 of them though, so the other SATA ports will still work.

Thank you!

flexo_is_great 2 points 8 days ago