add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Overclocking the Ryzen 7 2700, ASRock Taichi UEFI Question 4 Noobz, BIOS Update?

CrossFarm

8 months ago

Hey PC Fam,

So I'm getting a little overwhelmed with figuring out what I'm seeing when it comes to BIOS EUFI programs. specifically for my specific motherboard.

I have a ASRock -X470 Taichi ATX AM4 Motherboard and a Ryzen 7 2700x Processor.

I have been watching a bit of videos on the question of overclocking. But, since I am a total novice with overclocking and building PCs in general, I am looking for a place to actually learn (for free) exactly what everything means in the BIOS menu. I would like to learn this to an intermediate level before I consider touching a single thing in the EUFI. There are a few tutorials on BIOS programs in general, but I am struggling to find a video that specifically goes into detail of the Specific ASRock EUFI software. The closest i have found comes from the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G96mk2mByQI

As I was watching this video, I came under the impression that you can get overclocking speeds, ASSUMING that you can efficiently keep the CPU cooled. So with the stock fan cooling your CPU you'll get around 3.7 MHz . But if you somehow are keeping your CPU super duper cold, you will essentially get overclocking speeds ( 4.1 MHz+) without touching any settings in the BIOS/EUFI.

1.) Am I understanding this correctly? . It would be very nice if I wouldn't have to really dive into some technical aspect that I'm not entirely comfortable with yet