add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Newly introduced to overclocking, how much should i overclock my i7-8700k? (with specs)

Sphlay

8 months ago

hey guys so i ordered a PC (expected to come in by monday) with an intent of overclocking, at least mildly because i've never done so before. I don't have it yet so i cant post screenshots or any information, im just sort-of asking for GENERAL recommendations/estimates on how high i should overclock both my CPU and GPU, since i'm aware my cooling isn't the greatest i want to ask people that know more about overclocking than i do, to avoid damaging something since ultimately i want to use this computer for gaming over a long period of time, keeping it stable and healthy

CPU: Intel® Core™ Processor i7-8700K 3.70GHZ 12MB Intel Smart Cache LGA1151

CPU Cooling: 550LC 120mm Liquid Cooling CPU Cooler

(CASE FAN): DUAL ADDRESSABLE DIGITAL RGB 120MM FAN

HDD: 240GB SSD

HDD2: 2TB (2TBx1) HDD

MEMORY: 32GB DDR4-2400MHZ MEMORY

MOTHERBOARD: Z370 HD3 ATX USB 3.1 SATA3 1 M.2 CROSSFIRE

POWERSUPPLY: 800 Watts - Standard 80 Plus Power Supply

VIDEO: GeForce® RTX 2080 8GB GDDR6 (Turing) [VR Ready]

Again, very very very newly introduced to overclocking and how it works, wouldn't want to risk anything myself with such little knowledge so i just want to know, with this config, how much i should be expecting to (SAFELY) overclock the cpu AND gpu once the pc comes in. Thank you!

Comments

• 8 months ago
  • 1 point

If you want to keep it stable and healthy over a long time just keep it stock.

Thats just my 2 cents ;)

• 8 months ago
  • 1 point