• Be respectful to others
  • No spam
  • No NSFW content
  • No piracy or key resellers
  • No link shorteners
  • Offensive content will be removed

Topic

The_mrpickle 2 months ago

Is 8gb still okay for gaming? I have heard that windows uses up to 4 Gbs of RAM. Could I get by with 8Gbs for a little while and then upgrade soon or should i wait until i have more money and get 16Gbs. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Comments Sorted by:

ReverseFlash 2 points 2 months ago

Ive had 3 friends with 8gb of ram that say its annoying and there upgrading to 16gb so I would get two 8gb sticks cuz dual channel does good with ryzen

The_mrpickle submitter 1 point 2 months ago

Okay thank you! I will definitely get 16gbs

ZFGeek 1 Build 2 points 2 months ago

I have been using 8gb for 2 years now, and I've played games like Elite Dangerous and Warframe with no issues. My Windows 8.1 never uses more than 2.5 to 3 gb of ram, as long as you don't have a bunch of stuff running in the background.

thunder-93 2 points 2 months ago

depends on the games you play ... what games do you plan to play on your new rig?

Mainly for right now CSGO and Rainbow Six Siege and that would be about it for right now

thunder-93 2 points 2 months ago

You can still game with 8GB of RAM. CSGO will have no problem.

And Rainbow Six Siege can work with as low as 6GB but recommends 8GB of system RAM. And I'd say Windows does use on/about 3GB of RAM for many folks.

That said, I typically do like to plan for a little extra RAM if the budget allows ... especially since Windows and various applications running in the background can consume system RAM ... and a little extra RAM could go a good ways to reduce the system's need to swap memory to a page file on the hard disk or SSD when RAM starts getting more full. BTW, if you're already using an SSD as a boot/OS drive, that can help mitigate some speed bottlenecking when using a page file since SSDs are significantly faster than hard drives.