add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Tested every way I could think of, pretty sure video card is bad. Anything I missed?

macroidtoe
  • 12 months ago

This is my first time building a PC from scratch, but I'm pretty sure I've run into a bad video card.

Parts: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/qYMBRJ

I get 1 long beep and 2 shorter beeps upon booting, I get no video output, and the VGA debug light is on. Tried removing and reseating the video card, no change. The power light on the video card comes on, so it's getting power, just no video output.

I then tried putting the new video card into an old (but compatible) PC, and that PC also had the same result: video card is getting power, but no display output.

I then tried putting an old video card in the new PC, and it booted up into the BIOS menu, no problem. So that at least cleared up that the motherboard is fine.

It looks like the video card is the likely culprit, but is there anything else I'm missing? Is there any possibility that my motherboard needs an update to be able recognize the video card? That's the only other possibility I can think of.

Comments

• 12 months ago
  • 2 points

Refer to your motherboard manual for the beep codes.

• 12 months ago
  • 1 point

Found online that the code I'm getting does indicate a problem with the graphics card. Still wondering though if it's a defective card, or is there some step I'm missing... updating the BIOS, installing drivers, something.

• 12 months ago
  • 2 points