add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

computer turns on, but does not boot

dimm0k
  • 11 months ago

I have had the Asus - X99-DELUXE II ATX motherboard for about 3 years now, been running fine dual booting between Windows 10 and Linux. it wasn't until this morning when I had forgotten my Linux login password that resulted me in rebooting my machine. this is pretty much what launched the massive **** that hit the fan. turning the machine back on allowed me to get to the dual boot menu where I was able to do this 3 times, 2x selecting the newest boot kernel I had been using for a few months now and 1x selecting an older boot kernel to try. all 3 times resulted in some LZMA error, which I neglected to write down thinking I could either bring it up again or everything would fix itself next. no way out of this error since it halted the system so a reboot was required each time. unfortunately what happened next lead me here. the system turns on, but the monitors never wake up to show the BIOS screen or the boot up. any suggestions?

Comments

• 11 months ago
  • 1 point

system specs (CPU, GPU, RAM, storage, PSU)?

• 11 months ago
  • 1 point

sorry, not receiving any notifications for this forum... to answer your question, the specs are as follows:

• Intel - Core i7-6850K 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processor
  • Corsair - Vengeance LED 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
  • EVGA - GeForce GTX 780 3 GB Dual FTW ACX Video Card
  • Corsair - 860 W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply