add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

First build- MORE issues

TiHa
  • 12 months ago

ORIGINAL POST https://pcpartpicker.com/forums/topic/311121-first-build-motherboard-has-red-light-and-pc-will-not-boot:

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/Zxdpkd

This is my first build. After I set everything up it would not boot. The CPU cooler fan spins for a few seconds then shuts off then restarts. The fans in the case do not spin. A bunch of red lights switch on the backside of the motherboard shortly after turning it on. There are 4 small LED lights marked CPU, Dram, VGA, Boot; the red light will flicker between CPU and Dram but will settle on CPU. I have taken apart the build so that only the 24 pin and 8 pin are connected to the PSU, but it still has the same issue. I'm pretty sure I installed the CPU correctly so is this issue a malfunctioning motherboard? I'd rather not have to return it but I'm not sure what my alternatives are at this point. I appreciate any and all help, thanks.

Edit: I think a couple pins are bent. I'm going to try straightening them.

Edit 2: I straightened the pins but the problem is the same.

THE SOLUTION I TRIED:

"Remove everything but the CPU and cooler, 1 stick of memory , reset CMOS and try to boot into BIOS." -Zerk2012

THE SITUATION NOW: