add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Is my PC bottlenecked?(Possible upgrade options?)

tacosavior321

1 month ago

so this is my current build. https://pcpartpicker.com/list/tsbBV6

The computer (my third attempt at building a computer on my own) runs relatively well for my self taught expertise. In trying to get the best possible performance for games I'm looking to see if I'm running fine, currently choking my systems performance with my setup or if I should upgrade components to get better results. My own opinion is my monitor is holding my performance back as it was the thing I focused on last and I think I went too cheap compared to the other parts. I just feel Im not getting the best performance for what I paid for.

My fps in most of todays games will hover in the 65-85 range rarely going above 90. (although Could be the fact that some are AAA titles idk).

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

If you have a 1080p 144hz monitor but you are only getting 90fps at most, your monitor isn't really holding you back. If you are exceeding your monitor's 144hz refresh rate with something like 160+fps, then it would be a bottleneck.

For a 1080, those frames seem a bit low unless you are totally maxing out all settings like volumetric clouds in AC Odyssey. Which games are only running at 65-85fps? At 1080p resolution, you should be closer to 90fps average. Games like The Witcher 3 at max settings should be well over 100fps, same as Far Cry 5.