add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Ryzen 5 2600x Overclock. Good MoBo?

PhdHigh
  • 10 months ago

I am very new to Overclocking and was wondering if it would be worth while to OC once I get my last 2 parts. I will be using a Ryzen 5 2600x with a EVGA GTX 1070 8gb FE. I plan on ordering G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x8gb 3200mhz RAM. I was wondering what motherboard would best suit this, or even if it is viable to OC the CPU to try to get some better performance out of it. More or less, I just want to learn how to do it so I have that as an option later on when I finish my upgrade with a new case and PSU and Water cooling for my CPU.

On a side note, I was wondering if I got a Water cooling AIO for the Ryzen 5 2600x. If it would be viable for the upcoming Ryzen 3000 series if I plan to upgrade the Cpu in a couple years.

Any kind of advice and criticism is welcome. I am here to learn. :D

Comments

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point

It really isn't worth the effort to overclock a 2600X since unless it's a top 2% chip the stock boost clocks are going to outperform any all core overclock in most uses without the downsides of overclocking.

Also 3000 series isn't going to be around long AMD is replacing it next year with newer generations following yearly.

By the time that couple of years is up they will also be on a new socket.

• 10 months ago
  • 1 point