add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Learning how cooling works

StrallTech
  • 7 months ago

I am a new builder to the PC building world. I am wondering what the different options were about how to cool a PC and what to consider when looking at cooling options. I know there are 2 types of cooling and that is Water and Air cooling. What are the pro's and con's of each, where would one be better vs another, ect. I am really looking at building a dream build later on down the road.

Comments

• 7 months ago
  • 2 points

AIO pros:

• Performance (240mm or larger rads) They tend to have awesome performance
  • Space, They don't crowd the motherboard and the radiator can often be installed in the top or front of the case

AIO Cons:

• Tend to be expensive
  • Tend to be louder, not only do they have fans like air coolers they also have a pump and water flow to make noise
  • Due to having extra moving parts there is a chance of pump failure or leaks, though not a huge concern with a good quality one

Air cooler Pros:

• Performance, There are air coolers that can match or beat some AIOs
  • Lower Cost
  • Less noise
  • Reliability, only fans have a chance to fail and dual fan coolers have redundancy

Air cooler Cons:

• can be very large and not fit in as many cases and limit ram to low profile ram

Both are perfectly viable to use. I didn't list aesthetics as a pro or con on either one as art is in the eye of the beholder. What CPU are you planning to cool and in what case?

• 7 months ago
  • 1 point