add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Career Pursuits

2D_Mike
  • 4 months ago

Hi All, I am looking to start training to move into a new career and I need some feedback.

Quick back story. I went to the University of Cincinnati and graduated with a Bachelors of Business Administration (I didn't know what I wanted out of high school and college never really helped that). When I graduated, I was working as a retail store manager and making about $45k so I pretty much sat on my butt when it came to setting a career path (no excuses, just lacked direction). Several retail jobs later, I was introduced to a guy who had a mutual friend and this guy worked for a IT contracting company. That's when the idea of IT really started to stick in my mind. I had always been somewhat tech savvy and grew up around computers. Long story short, his company trained me in JCL, TWS, and various other mainframe applications and got me a job at a very large bank.

Now, while I appreciate this job as an intro into the tech world, it is not what I want to be doing even a year from now. I have quickly proven my worth here and become one of the strongest team members. Now I am looking to earn additional certifications in order to pursue something different and more desirable for me personally.