add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Issues with Overclocking

Aeyix
  • 4 months ago

So I'm new to overclocking but I'm not quite sure what is going wrong. I have an MSI MPG Gaming Edge Z390M Micro ATX board, i7-9700k, Corsair RMx 650, plenty of case air flow, and a Noctua NH-U12A cooler.

Currently my system will remain at 4.6GHz (the default all core turbo boost) no issue under Cinebench R20 and gaming. Under Prime 95, it will cycle between 4.4 and 4.6GHz accross the cores under small fft's. At that point temps are fluctuating between 75 and 80. All other tests including the blend Prime 95 test when the cores run consistently at 4.6, I'm only seeing temps around 55-60. So the way I see it, I have plenty of thermal headroom.

My first concern is when I run Cinebench R20 in single core mode. I'm not seeing any single core reach above 4.6GHz though and to my understanding single core turbo boost on the 9700k is 4.9GHz.