add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Arch Linux with gaming VM on Laptop

SeeNi
  • 21 days ago

So I'm new to the whole linux in general but I wanted to see if it would be possible to install Arch Linux on my laptop and install a Windows 10 gaming VM on that Linux. I have Asus VivoBook M570DD with Ryzen 7 3700U, 8gb of ram and GTX 1050. I saw a youtuber do it but in order to create powerful gaming vm u need to have 2 graphics cards or integraded gpu on your cpu. So for Arch Linux I would like to use my Vega 10 and for gaming VM i would like to use GTX 1050 via the process he called hijacking. I would like to know if this is possible on my setup and should i get another 8 gb of ram?

Comments

• 21 days ago
  • 1 point

You can certainly run a Windows VM; I've never tried to do it for gaming. Yes, I would advise another 8 GB memory; it's probably not essential but it will help avoid paging or swapping.

• 21 days ago
  • 1 point

but can i run it the way i said up there with using dedicated gpu for vm and my igpu for arch linux

• 21 days ago
  • 1 point

Depends on what virtual machine manager you're using. I don't think VirtualBox has a GPU passthrough, although it does have some sort of Windows guest 2d/3d acceleration. I've no idea what you can do with VMware. KVM/qemu can do it, I think, but I've never tried it.

• 21 days ago
  • 1 point

I'm new to the whole linux in general

Read https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Frequently_asked_questions#I_am_a_complete_GNU/Linux_beginner._Should_I_use_Arch? before starting; make sure you know what you're signing up for.

• 21 days ago