add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Gaming PC Recommendations

robertoc9
  • 72 months ago

This is my first time building a gaming PC and would like some input regarding this build.

http://pcpartpicker.com/b/wmf7YJ

Comments

• 72 months ago
  • 1 point

Looks pretty solid except these three points:

1- you don't need 16gb of ram, for gaming 8gb will suffice.

2- for storage, you could get away with a 120gb ssd instead of a 240gb. The performance difference is minimal to none having games saved to a ssd. The only difference you will see is in write time and possible in load time, but actual gaming won't have a noticeable difference.

3- check to make sure the corsair h100i WILL fit in the case. IK it says its compatible but to often in mid tower cases does the cpu power cable get in the way of the radiator.

• 72 months ago
  • 1 point

Thank you for your response. Regarding the dual hard drives, what's the actual point of having two? How do I know which programs to put on what HDD?

• 72 months ago
  • 1 point